Here is a round-up of books to gift your favorite foodies:

SWEET: Desserts from London’s Ottolenghi by über-cookbook author and restaurateur Yotam Ottolenghi, with HelenGoh is a fantastic collection of recipes from this pastry-trained chef.  All the sweets in this book hold the same standard in his other best-selling cookbooks, utilizing fresh, evocative ingredients, exotic spices, and complex flavor profiles to create an amazing compendium of desserts to make your favorite foodie swoon!  Standouts include: soft gingerbread tiles with rum butter glaze; tahini and halva brownies; fig, orange, and mascarpone cheesecake; apricot and thyme galettes with polenta pastry; and chocolate Guiness cake with Baileys Irish cream.

FRENCH PÂTISSERIE: Master Recipes and Techniques from the Ferrandi School of Culinary Arts by the Chefs at Ferrandi in Paris is the ultimate pastry bible for those who worship at the altar of croissants and tarts.  This is an amazing work of art, a coffee-table volume of practical information written by the school’s experienced teaching team of master pâtissiers and adapted for the home chef.  This impressive achievement in the culinary art of pâtisserie is the perfect gift for those who love to bake!

STATE BIRD PROVISIONS: A Cookbook is the debut cookbook from San Francisco’s notable restaurant, State Bird Provisions, helmed by chef Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski.  The chefs were inspired by the diversity of passed hors d’oeuvres, and use dim sum arts to offer diners small but beautifully crafted inspiring dishes including: sauerkraut, pecorino, and ricotta pancakes; black butter-balsamic figs with basil and fontina fondue; cast-iron quail eggs with summer vegetable condiments and garlic chips; quinoa tabbouleh with marinated tuna, shiitakes, and bonito-rosemary aioli; and white sesame-cream cheese ice cream sandwiches with roasted strawberries.  This book is the perfect gift for your favorite foodie with a sophisticated palate!

wd~50: The Cookbook by celebrated chef and James Beard award-winner, Wylie Dufresne and Peter Meehan, is a gorgeous cocktail table cookbook detailing Chef Dufresne’s ground-breaking cuisine.  With gorgeous photography, detailed recipes explaining Wylie’s iconic creations, and stories from the last days of the restaurant, wd~50 is a collectible piece of culinary memorabilia. This book is perfect for fans of Wylie, foodies, and industry insiders.

THE HOME COOK: Recipes to Know by Heart by accomplished chef and author, Alex Guarnaschelli is a cookbook full of recipes that are easy to prepare and bound to please both family and guests.  I dog-eared many pages anxious to try out so many of the beautifully photographed recipes in the book. I look forward to cooking: midtown Manhattan clam chowder; white bouillabaisse; chicken cutlets with prosciutto and sage; roasted bluefish in foil; broiled cauliflower steaks with parsley and lemon; grilled tomato salad; peach lime bars; and flourless chocolate sheet cake.

AUTENTICO: Cooking Italian, the Authentic Way by Rolando Beramendi is an introduction to the authentic flavors of Italy.  Baramendi, importer and connoisseur of Italian ingredients, has compiled 120 recipes that go beyond pasta to a world of authentic Italian dishes.  Colored by the choicest ingredients from the shores of Italy and beyond, the pages of Autentico offer a rich taste of the Italy’s history, brought to life in the modern kitchen.  Standouts include: fennel braised in Chianti; risotto with radicchio; farro and zucchini torta; polenta and kale soup; sweet-and-strong lamb stew; fish stew from Abruzzo; and Tuscan baked apples.

AMERICA THE GREAT COOKBOOK: The Food We Make for the People We Love From 100 of Our Finest Chefs and Food Heroes edited by Joe Yonan is a one-of-a-kind of extraordinarily photographed collection of recipes from our favorite food professional, detailing their intimate stories about food and family and their need to cook. In addition, America The Great Cookbook fights childhood hunger by helping No Kid Hungry connect kids with at least 200,000 meals.  Leaf through the volume to find: José Andres gazpacho; Dan Barber’s juice pulp cheeseburgers; David Chang’s clam juk; Jessica Koslow’s French toast; Nancy Silverton’s chicken salad with Indian spices and preserved lemon; Joan Nathan’s chicken soup; and Erin French’s blueberry spoon cake.

Share →
Please use the search box above to find content within our site.Thanks for dropping by! Feel free to stay updated by subscribing to the RSS feed.